Motivation et premiers pas vers l’activité physique

Posted Posted in Goal setting, Motivation, Self-regulation

Keegan Knittle, University of Helsinki, Finland Voici une histoire familière tirée des soins primaires : une personne qui bénéficierait clairement d’une augmentation de son activité physique entre dans la clinique. Nous discutons de son (in) activité physique et, à la fin, la personne dit qu’elle n’est pas simplement motivée pour changer. Qu’est-ce qu’un clinicien est […]

Les interventions de psychologie positive au travail

Posted Posted in Intervention design, Interventions

Alexandra Michel, Federal Institute for Occupational Health and Safety, Allemagne et Annekatrin Hoppe, Humboldt Universität, Allemagne Les employés passent une grande partie de leur temps au travail. Il n’est donc pas surprenant que la réduction de la demande et l’augmentation des ressources (autonomie, soutien social, efficacité personnelle, par exemple) jouent un rôle important dans la […]

Que se passe-t-il avec les médicaments lorsqu’on rentre à la maison ?

Posted Posted in Medication adherence

Kerry Chamberlain, Massey University, Auckland, New Zealand Que fait-on avec les médicaments une fois qu’ils pénètrent notre foyer ? Étonnamment, peu d’études ont tenté de répondre à cette question. Cependant, il s’agit d’un sujet important : la plupart des médicaments sont consommés à la maison, sous le contrôle du consommateur. Les médicaments sur ordonnance sont réglementés, mais […]

Comment définir des objectifs qui fonctionnent ?

Posted Posted in Goal setting, Planning

Tracy Epton, University of Manchester, United Kingdom La fixation d’objectifs est une technique populaire Il existe de nombreuses techniques différentes qui peuvent être utilisées pour changer le comportement (93 selon une liste récente !). La fixation d’objectifs est une technique bien connue que la plupart des gens ont déjà utilisé à un moment donné. La fixation […]

Bouger plus, moins s’asseoir au travail : ne nous asseyons pas pour en parler

Posted Posted in Interventions, Social Support

Stuart Biddle, University of Southern Queensland, Australia J’écris ce poste de blog le jour de la Saint-Valentin ! Bluearth, l’organisme de bienfaisance en promotion de la santé en Australie, a produit des vidéos amusantes qui vous encouragent à utiliser votre chaise plutôt que de « rompre avec votre chaise » (comme la séparation avec votre […]

La volonté contre les tentations malsaines – Alerte Spoiler – La perte de volonté perd généralement

Posted Posted in Automaticity, Habit

Par Amanda Rebar, Université Central Queensland, Australie Sans grande surprise, les preuves montrent que les gens ne se comportent pas toujours de la meilleure façon possible pour leur santé sur le long terme. Par exemple, la plupart des gens sont conscients que l’exercice est bon pour leur santé physique et mentale, mais relativement peu de […]

Exploiter votre imagination: utiliser le pouvoir de l’imagerie mentale afin de changer le comportement de santé

Posted Posted in If-Then Plans, Interventions, Mental Imagery, Planning

Martin S. Hagger, Université de Curtin, Australie et Université de Jyväskylä, Finlande et Dominic Conroy, Université de Birkbeck de Londres, UK Qu’est-ce que l’imagerie mentale ? En général, les gens sont plutôt douées pour s’imaginer des choses. Par exemple, on a souvent tendance à mettre en scène des actions futures ou des scénarios dans son […]

The Power of Planning

Posted Posted in If-Then Plans, Planning

Peter M. Gollwitzer, New York University Tout le monde a de mauvaises habitudes. On grignote quand on est stressé ou on boit trop de l’alcool lors d’une fête entre amis. On crée un stress inutile en permettant aux médias sociaux de distraire par rapport à la réalisation de ses projets de travail urgents ou en […]

Fear is a bad counsellor

La peur est mauvaise conseillère

Posted Posted in Fear, Incentives

Dr Gjalt-Jorn Peters, Open University, Netherlands   Les campagnes chocs sont fréquemment utilisées afin de provoquer des changements de comportements. Un exemple en sont les messages menaçants et graphiques induisant la peur qui sont présents sur les emballages de cigarettes, ainsi que les campagnes promouvant le port de ceinture et la dissuasion de consommation de […]

What happens with medications when they go home?

Posted on Posted in Medication adherence

By Kerry Chamberlain, Massey University, Auckland, New Zealand What do people do with medications once they enter the home? Surprisingly, limited research has attempted to answer that question. Yet, it is important – most medications are consumed at home under the control of the consumer. Prescription medicines are regulated, but once prescribed and collected, they are […]

How to set goals that work?

Posted on Posted in Goal setting, Planning

By Tracy Epton, University of Manchester, United Kingdom Goal setting is a popular technique There are many different techniques that can be used to change behaviour (93 according to a recent list!). Goal setting is a well-known technique that most people have used at some point. Goal setting is used by charities (e.g., Alcohol Concern, […]

Move more, sit less at work: let’s not sit to talk about it

Posted on Posted in Interventions, Social Support

By Stuart Biddle, University of Southern Queensland, Australia I’m writing this blog on Valentine’s Day! The health promotion charity in Australia, Bluearth, has produced some amusing videos encouraging you to use your chair less by ‘breaking up with your chair’ (liking splitting from your partner, see videos here). So what is the issue here? Essentially, […]

Willpower versus Unhealthy Temptations – Spoiler Alert – Willpower Usually Loses

Posted on Posted in Automaticity, Habit

By Amanda Rebar, Central Queensland University, Australia It will come as no surprise that evidence shows people do not always behave in ways that are best for their long-term health. For example, most people are aware that exercise is good for their physical and mental health, but comparatively far fewer people exercise regularly. When a […]

Harnessing your imagination: Using the power of mental imagery to change health behaviour

Posted on Posted in If-Then Plans, Interventions, Mental Imagery, Planning

Martin S. Hagger, Curtin University, Australia and University of Jyväskylä, Finland and Dominic Conroy, Birkbeck University of London, UK What is mental imagery? People are usually quite good at imagining things. For example, people often act out future actions or scenarios in their mind, or daydream about fanciful possibilities. These imagined situations are often unstructured […]

The Power of Planning

Posted on Posted in If-Then Plans, Planning

Peter M. Gollwitzer, New York University Everyone has bad habits. You snack when distressed or you drink too much alcohol when relaxing with friends. You create unnecessary stress by letting the social media distract you from completing pressing work projects, or by getting into unnecessary arguments with colleagues, friends, and family. How can you change […]

Fear is a bad counsellor

Fear is a bad counsellor

Posted on Posted in Fear, Incentives

Dr Gjalt-Jorn Peters, Open University, Netherlands Fear appeals are a commonly used strategy to change behaviour. For instance the threatening and graphic fear-arousing communications now ever-present on tobacco packaging, and in campaigns to promote seatbelt use and discourage substance use. Despite the popularity and widespread use of these fear-arousing methods, research suggests that they may […]

Does money really change everything? Using financial incentives and disincentives to change health behaviours

Posted on Leave a commentPosted in Financial Incentives, Incentives

Dr Jean Adams, Centre for Diet & Activity Research, University of Cambridge Since October last year, by law, large retailers in England have been charging customers 5p (€0.06) for ‘single-use plastic carrier bags’ – those flimsy plastic bags you get from supermarkets to carry your groceries home. The money raised is donated by retailers to ‘good […]

Getting into the habit: Applying the science of habit-formation to the real-world

Posted on Leave a commentPosted in Automaticity, Habit

By Benjamin Gardner, King’s College London What is a ‘habit’? Why do we eat popcorn while watching movies? The answer, for most, is that eating popcorn is a habitual response to watching movies. Psychologists define ‘habitual’ behaviours as actions that happen automatically, due to learned associations between situations (the movie theatre) and our responses to […]