Soziale Unterstützung und Gesundheitsverhalten: Wie man sich von gut gemeinter zu qualifizierter Unterstützung bewegt

Posted on Posted in Interventions, Social Support

Urte Scholz, University of Zurich & Gertraud (Turu) Stadler, University of Aberdeen Soziale Unterstützung scheint ausschliesslich positiv zu sein. Was kann denn auch an ein wenig Hilfe schlecht sein? Jemanden zu haben, der gesunde Mahlzeiten kocht, wenn man versucht, sich gesünder zu ernähren oder von jemandem getröstet zu werden, wenn man traurig ist, weil der […]

„Sehr kurze“ Interventionen zur Verhaltensänderung in Gesundheitseinrichtungen

Posted on Posted in Interventions

Von Stephen Sutton, University of Cambridge, England Umfangreiche Probleme erfordern auch umfangreiche Lösungen. Die Bewältigung der sogenannten “Big 4” der gesundheitsschädigenden Verhaltensweisen (körperliche Inaktivität, Tabakkonsum, übermässiges Essverhalten und exzessiver Alkoholkonsum) erfordert durchführbare Interventionen, die eine grosse Anzahl an Personen erreichen können, um bedeutsame Auswirkungen auf die öffentliche Gesundheit zu erzielen. Ein vielversprechender Ansatz besteht darin, […]

Nutzen Sie ihre Vorstellungskraft: Die Nutzung der Kraft von mentalen Bildern bei der Gesundheitsverhaltensänderung

Posted on Posted in If-Then Plans, Interventions, Mental Imagery, Planning

Martin S. Hagger, Curtin University, Australia und University of Jyväskylä, Finland und Dominic Conroy, Birkbeck University of London, UK   Was ist die mentale Vorstellung? Menschen können sich meistens ziemlich gut Dinge vorstellen. Beispielsweise spielen sie oft zukünftige Handlungen oder Szenarien in ihren Gedanken durch oder tagträumen über fantasiereiche Möglichkeiten. Diese imaginierten Situationen sind oft […]

E-health: Zwischen Hype und Hoffnung

Posted on Posted in E-health, Interventions

Rik Crutzen, Maastricht University, The Netherlands     Heutzutage benutzt fast jede*r ständig das Internet für diverse Aktivitäten: vom Lebensmitteleinkauf bis hin zum Versenden eines lustigen Katzenbildes an Freunde am anderen Ende der Welt. Alles ist möglich. Zusätzlich wird das Internet immer häufiger für  Gesundheitsthemen genutzt – das nennt sich dann E-health.

Move more, sit less at work: let’s not sit to talk about it

Posted on Posted in Interventions, Social Support

By Stuart Biddle, University of Southern Queensland, Australia I’m writing this blog on Valentine’s Day! The health promotion charity in Australia, Bluearth, has produced some amusing videos encouraging you to use your chair less by ‘breaking up with your chair’ (liking splitting from your partner, see videos here). So what is the issue here? Essentially, […]

Social support and health behavior: How to move from well-intentioned to skilled support

Posted on Posted in Interventions, Social Support

By Urte Scholz, University of Zurich and Gertraud (Turu) Stadler, University of Aberdeen Social support seems to be an exclusively positive thing. What can be bad about a little help? Having someone who cooks healthy meals when you try to eat better, or being comforted when you feel down because your recent attempt at quitting […]

Very Brief Interventions

Posted on Posted in Interventions

By Stephen Sutton, University of Cambridge, England Large-scale problems require large-scale solutions. Tackling the ‘Big 4’ behaviours (physical inactivity, tobacco use, excessive consumption of food and alcohol) requires scalable interventions that can reach large numbers of people to achieve a significant public health impact. One promising approach is to use brief interventions delivered by practitioners […]

Harnessing your imagination: Using the power of mental imagery to change health behaviour

Posted on Posted in If-Then Plans, Interventions, Mental Imagery, Planning

Martin S. Hagger, Curtin University, Australia and University of Jyväskylä, Finland and Dominic Conroy, Birkbeck University of London, UK What is mental imagery? People are usually quite good at imagining things. For example, people often act out future actions or scenarios in their mind, or daydream about fanciful possibilities. These imagined situations are often unstructured […]

E-health: hypes and hopes

Posted on Posted in E-health, Interventions

Rik Crutzen, Maastricht University, The Netherlands Nowadays, people use the Internet all the time and for a wide range of activities: from buying groceries to showing a funny cat-picture to a friend on the other side of the world. It is all possible. Also, the Internet is used more and more within the domain of health […]